TER – TOUR EUROPEAN RALLY Newsletter N. 5 2017

TER – TOUR EUROPEAN RALLY Newsletter N. 5 2017

29 augustus 2017 Uit Door Alain Mervilde

Local hero secures emotional maiden home win.

The portuguese crew of Alexandre Camacho – Pedro Calado, driving a Delta Rally Peugeot 208 T16, won the third round of the 2017 TER – Tour European RallyRali Vinho da Madeira.

The 4-time event winner Giandomenico Basso, codriven by Lorenzo Granai on the BRC Racing Team Hyundai New Generation i20 finished second after a great battle and scored important championship points.

The podium was completed by Simone Tempestini – Giovanni Bernacchini with a Citroën DS3 R5. The 2016 TER winner and JWRC World Champion lost time in the opening stages and made a great comeback for his first time driving on the tricky tarmac roads of the Pearl of the Atlantic island.

Just outside the podium the german crew of Stefan Göttig – Nathalie Solbach-Schmidt gained plenty of experience and precious championship points with their Škoda Fabia R5,

A great fifth place rewarded Diogo Soares – Luis Rodrigues, who drove a Peugeot 208 R2 to victory in the TER2 Cup.

Sixth position for another class winner, Ricardo Gonçalves – Artur França who clinched the TER 2WD Trophy in their Citroën C2 ahead of Paulo Moreira – Pedro Alves (Peugeot 208 R2) in seventh.

Eighth place for Juan Carlos Alonso – Matias Mercadal (Mitsubishi Evo X): the argentinian crew won the TER Production Trophy despite fuel pump problems in the intense Madeira heat, ending just ahead of the sister car driven by their main rivals and new class leaders Jim Van den Heuvel – Jouri Dockx.

The top ten was completed by the Ford Fiesta of Renato Pita – Marco Macedo.


Many candidate events widen the TER concept throughout Europe.

The promoters and organisers of the TER – Tour European Rally are working hard for the TER Historic, the new 6-8 round independent series for historic cars which will be launched in 2018.

The TER Historic will maintain the characteristics which make the TER successful, a mix between great rallies and outstandng tourism locations, and offer drivers, teams and fans a dedicated global media promotion and coverage.

Luca Grilli, TER Promoter and Organiser, said: “We are working hard to launch the TER Historic. There is a lot of interest from different prestigious races, we have several candidate events which will enable us to widen the presence of the TER concept throughout Europe. Both the TER and TER Historic are proving extremely popular, and we are delighted with the reactions from the events, drivers and fans.”

First four crews represent four different nations in four different R5-spec cars.

The 2017 TER – Tour European Rally celebrated a premiere in Round 3 – Rali Vinho da Madeira. The first four classified crews came from as many different countries, and drove as many different R5-spec cars.

Local hero Alexandre Camacho won the event driving a Delta Rally Peugeot 208 T16. The Italian series leader Giandomenico Basso finished second with his BRC Racing Team – Hyundai New Generation i20, ahead of Romanian Simone Tempestini who drove a Citroën DS3 to complete the podium. And just outside the podium was Germany’s Stefan Göttig in a Škoda Fabia,

A truly international line-up, for a truly international series, which saw crews from 9 different countries compete in Madeira.

Halfway through the 2017 season, TER entries currently include crews representing 16 countries, an improvement from 2016 where 15 countries were present at the end of the season.

Simon Vallentin holds on to the series lead but rivals are catching up.

The portuguese crew of Diogo Soares – Luis Rodrigues drove their Peugeot 208 R2 to victory in the TER2 Cup at Rali Vinho da Madeira. Second place went to Roland Stengg – Ditte Kammersgaard‘s Opel Adam, while Joachim Wagemans – François Geerlandt (Peugeot 208 R2) finished third and, with the bonus points awarded for the fastest time in the TER Power Stage, are now only two points from provisional leader Simon Vallentin.

Jim van den Heuvel (Production) and Renato Pita (2wd) are the new leaders.

In Rali Vinho da Madeira, Round 3 of the 2017 TER – Tour European Rally, the TER Production Trophy was won by Juan Carlos Alonso – Matias Mercadal, driving a Mitsubishi Evo X. The crew from Argentina came home ahead of the sister cars of Jim van den Heuvel – Jouri Dockx, new leaders in the provisional Trophy classification, and Henk Bakkenes – Jeannette Kvick who climb in second place.

In the TER 2WD Trophy, first place for the Citroën C2 of Ricardo Gonçalves – Artur França with Paulo Moreira – Pedro Alves (Peugeot 208 R2) in second. Renato Pita – Marco Macedo (Ford Fiesta) complete the podium and move into the lead of the provisional standings with their second consecutive result after Ypres Rally.